Form of Government – Proposition 10

On this year's ballot, you'll have an opportunity to vote "Yes" or "No" on Proposition 10, a change in the form of government.

Proposition 10 will ask if the City of West Jordan should change its form of government from a Council-Manager form, it's current form, to a Council-Mayor form.

We encourage you to research ahead of time the difference between the two forms of government. The Voter Information Phamplet includes information from residents on both sides of the issue who put together For and Against viewpots. To view the For and Against viewpoints on this proposition, click here.

Both the For and Against groups have websites with more information to support their opinions. 

Ballot Language

Proposition 10 – Form of Government

Shall the City of West Jordan, Utah, change its form of government to the Council-Mayor Form, with a seven-member Council?

The City currently has a Council-Manager form of government. This form of government consists of a seven-member City Council (one of the members being the Mayor) and a chief executive officer, called a City Manager, who is appointed by a majority of the City Council. The Mayor and two of the Council members are elected at large and the other four Council members are elected by districts (one member from each district).


The proposal, if approved, would become effective two years later, after the Nov. 5, 2019 general election. The proposal is for a Council-Mayor form of government with separate branches of government. The Mayor would not be a member of the council, but would be the head of the executive/administrative branch. The Mayor would appoint a chief administrative officer to assist him/her. The seven-member City Council (one of which is a chairman, elected by the others) would be the head of the legislative branch. The Mayor and three of the Council members would be elected at large and the other four Council members would be elected by districts (one member from each district). The Council boundaries would be the same as in the current form of government.

Mayor and Council Districts      District Map

Mayor Dirk Burton

Councilmember Chris McConnehey (District 1)

Councilmember Melissa Worthen (District 2)

Councilmember Zach Jacob (District 3)

Councilmember David Pack (District 4)

Councilmember Chad Lamb (At Large)

Councilmember Kayleen Whitelock (At Large)

Councilmember Kelvin Green (At Large)

© 2019 by City of West Jordan. Created by M2K

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon